Write an academic essay of about 250 words on the following topic. Discuss the benefits and drawbacks of extracurricular activities to secondary school students. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In recent years, it has been creasingly common to see that extracurricular activities have played a prominent role in secondary school students' lifestyles. A number of students think it brings multiple benefits, while others claim that its disadvantages cannot be ignored. The following paragraph will elucidate the distinct benifical effects and drawbacks of extracurricular activities. On the one hand, it can be contended that extracurricular activities bring substantial advantages to students. One of the most significant benefits is that extracurricular activities help secondary learners ameliorate their mental skills, which could stay with them for a lifetime. In this day and age, the knowledge that books provide is detailed. However, if students only learn through books, their thinking ability will be limited to the pages of paper. By joining extracurricular activities, especially the lively social events that conclude different challenges, it requires participants to learn how to apply the theories to real-life circumstances, anylize, synthesize and evaluate the problem and finally come up with effective solutions. For instance, in a football match, children are required to utilize their skills and quickly make decisions to get the ball in the right way. In addition, extracurricular activities help students build friendships and teamwork skills. When secondary students participate in extracurricular activities, they will be provided with the great opportunity to interact with others who share similar interests and potentially build friendships outside of their typical circle that don’t involve coursework. It helps students build their cooperation, social development and leadership skills. Conversely, there are multiple adverse effects of extracurricular activites that students have to deal with. One of the most serious disadvantages of online learning is that balancing school work with extracurricular activities can be a complicated problem for students. An abundance of activities may take up lots of their valuable time studying and completing homework. When students always take part in extracurricular activites, live with a tough and tight schedule, they could be extremely stressful, exhausted, and easily lose motivation to do any lively social events or even study. Furthermore, busy secondary school students also have less time to spend at home with their families, which can put a strain on familial relationships as the kids get older. Parents and children should communicate so that young children do not face unneeded early pressures. To sum up everything that has been stated so far, it can be clearly seen that extracurricular activities has made a tremendous contribution to secondary school students’ improvement. There are, however, a number of potential drawbacks that must be overcome. .