IELTS Writing Task 2 Topic: International car-free day is an effective way of reducing air pollution

Some individuals believes that global car-free days could be an effective ways to cope with the air pollution when others say that there are many other methods for this issues. From my point of view, although car-free days is a good idea, I agree with the latter opinion. On the one hand, there are a lot of significant impacts of car-free days on the improvement of the atmosphere. It is widely known that exhaust fumes, which is considered to be the root cause of air contamination, make up the high proportion of the atmosphere, including SO2 or CO2 as general. To be more detailed, not using cars for a few days could reduce the harmful emissions release into the environment as well as improve the air quality. Such policy can make a real difference in many countries in the world, especially in some cosmopolitan cities. Take Beijing as an example, this city’s atmosphere filled with smog will enhance considerably if car-free days method can introduced. On the other hand, in spite of those aforementioned evidences for the effective aspects of the international car-free days, other measures should be paid more attention to diminish the amount of toxic fumes. The first solutions associated withthis issues are for government to encourage their citizens to usepublic transport regularly such as bus on the ground that these vehicles are likely to lower air pollutants released into the atmosphere. Secondly, using sustainable and environmentally-friendly sources of energy like solar energy, wind power instead of non-renewable energy, especially fossil fuels can decrease the huge amount of greenhouse gases. Last but not least, the disposal of watse in many households, involving plastic watse, should be regulated and monitored closely. All in all, despite those undeniable positive points of worldwide car-free days, I am convinced that other solutions should be taken into more consideration to deal with the air contamination.