IELTS Writing Task 2 Sample 469 - The best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities

Nowadays, many people have a sedentary lifestyle which causes many vital health problems. Some people suggest building more sports facilities, while some think that it only causes little effects, and other measures need to be taken. I, wholeheartedly, agree that providing more sport facilities would not be the most optimal way to increase public health and other measures are required. To begin with, sports facilities have the sole purpose of improving a person’s health, and by increasing the number of sport facilities the capacity of people can use the facility will increase dramatically. In addition, building sport facilities in different areas will undoubtedly shorten the travel distance required. For instance, people, who have to travel long hours just to use the sports facilities, will be less interested to use the sports facilities. On the other hand, it is known that simple exercise does not require sports facilities. To illustrate some examples, exercising by jogging around the neighbourhood or doing simple stretches can be done at home. In addition, increasing the capacity of sports facilities would not affect public health, since only a few people who daily go these facilities, like body builders. Hence, other measures should be taken. For example, funding hospitals with low cost and high quality to make medicines and operations more affordable; planting more trees in many areas, especially in the most polluted cities, to fix the abysmal air quality. To sum up, I believe that even building hundreds and thousands of sports facilities still would only cause little effect on public health. In my opinion, providing more affordable hospital and planting more trees will cause more impact to the public health