(IELTS Writing Essay) Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

These days, it is an indisputable fact that the number of students who are studying science subjects is dramatically declining compared to other specialisations at universities over time in most parts of the world. This essay will highlight the main reasons that have caused this situation and explore its negative ramifications on society. First of all, one of the most significant reasons for a lack of preference for science subjects is that these studies are considered more difficult and complex so it requires more intelligence, commitment as well as patience in the long run. For instance, to become a qualified doctor, students must obtain high marks and devote their lives for 5 to 6 academic years of extensive study and a great deal of effort. Another reason that should be taken into account for why students choose to be specialised in other majors (such as commerce or engineering) is the abundance of job opportunities with good salaries for those who are non-scientific graduates. As a consequence, if fewer learners join science classes, the society will face many detrimental effects. For example, there will be a serious shortage of experts and research related to scientific sides. Moreover, imbalance between healthcare workers and other people, in other words, each doctor takes responsibility about large number of patients daily which can lead to a decline of treatment levels, which could negatively impact people’s health. In conclusion, although it is commonly known that only intelligent students can overcome obstacles in science subjects, individuals should be encouraged to enrol in this sector in order to improve technological developments and save others lives.