IELTS Academic Writing TaskWRITING TASK 2 In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advan

It is a worldwide phenomenon that many people travel to different countries for the purpose of higher education. This was not possible and less occurring in the past mainly due to lack of knowledge about foreign countries, and expensive travel and cost of studies. However, the globalisation and the revolution in information technology has made it possible today that many people are benefitting from the quality education from universities. Arguments can be made in favour of study in foreign countries. However, we need to be mindful that there are many critics to such patterns. First of all, opportunity to receive quality education is one of the most important benefits of going to foreign university. This is so true in case of students from poor and developing nations where there is hardly any infrastructure and investment in good universities, colleges, and research centres. Secondly, when students enrol in the foreign universities, they can use their time in understanding cultures, customs and traditions of another country and of other students. It augurs well when young students learn to respect other cultures and languages. As said before, there are plenty of negative consequences of joining foreign universities. A country which is already poor loses a lot of foreign currency reserves when a student travels to another country. Prospective graduate and undergraduate candidate has to spend a lot of money for his college admission, for hostel, for books in another country and this could be detrimental to poor country’s economy. The second disadvantage of studying in international universities for anyone is that he or she is not able to gain the required amount of knowledge of his home country and there could be some difficulty to work in his or her country when they return. Therefore, in my conclusion, I would like to state that education in foreign country is not without demerits and each individual should make his own assessment with regard to what is best for him.