How to use our minds during leisure time.

Leisure time is a paramount space in life as it helps people coping with stress in day-to-day society. Although both aims are fruitful ways to spend free time, it seems to be a popular disagreement on whether this time should be used for activities to improve or rest the mind. Several examples support the fact that having an active mind is highly recommendable when taking a time out. For instance, the use of puzzles or books as entertaining features can be very productive to exercise our mind and enjoy of relaxation at the same time. In addition, some statistics from the Neuroscience Institute of Manchester defend that people who potentiate their brain capacity in their spare time might diminish the risk of Alzheimer to almost 35%. Likewise, psychologist Kyle Walker, from this same entity, recommends that keeping yourself intellectually busy, even though you are on vacation, is psychologically useful because allows you to distract your thoughts from daily problems and enrich your knowledge as well. On the other hand, some people have an alternative opinion, which argue that resting the mind is more essential. Mental rest, like body relaxation, is fundamental to maintain a healthy lifestyle. Therefore, this practice plays a remarkable role as stress reliever. According to an article published by The New York Times, taking the brain off stressful things like work regularly can be a therapeutic advantage to our psychological health. From my viewpoint, both alternatives have outstanding benefits. Consequently, they should come together in our leisure plans in order to have a rewarding time to relax.