Consecuences of retail therapy

Consumerism is a common phenomenon in most developed countries in which shopping has become rather an entertainment activity than a needful one. The discussion about this topic relies in whether is it negative or positive for people. As scientific evidence had shown, buying things excessively without a defined purpose jeopardize physical and economic human situation. Retail industry has fell under the avaricious claws of consumerism in those nations, which provokes several issues among their inhabitants. People have developed some disorders related to shopping that threatened their mind as well as their pocket. For instance, they spent huge amounts of money in retail therapy, buying uncontrollably all kinds of products they actually do not need just to improve their psychological state. Consequently, they have turned into compulsive buyers, what makes them feel compelled to purchase lots of goods in order to satisfy their craving. This condition has been aggravated by the marketing industry, which only goal consists of persuading people to consume every penny they own in the most insignificant items. In addition, some studies revealed that even more money is expended every day when credit cards are used as method of payment. Therefore, purchasing frenziedly causes not just serious damage to human beings’ health, as it generates a sort of addiction in their brain, but also affects negatively their financial situation. On the whole, shopping should be perceived as an essential human necessity instead of consider it as a barely way of entertainment because of the remarkable side effects obsessive shopping might produce.