How to help students with speaking skills

Many English learners face a fatal problem with speaking. They cannot speak English well even if they think in English well in their minds. As a sequence, they think that they have an issue with grammar and vocabulary. They also face a problem with pronunciation thinking that they are always wrong and not like native speakers. Those problems faced by them are because of many reasons. The first reason for those problems is not practising for sufficient time to feel confident to speak English. It is said that practice makes perfect. And any skill needs to be practised on to be mastered. English, as well, is a skill. Or not just a skill it has four skills and each skill of them needs time to spend practising on it in order to improve. Speaking, which is our main theme, needs to be practiced with different levels of language speakers to gain self-confidence and to get used to speaking that target language. The second reason is that many learners do not take their time to learn and study so that they can have enough knowledge to speak and train on the language. For sure practising is so significant but no one can practice what they do not have. So, taking enough time to study first is important before starting the practice stage. They have to have missing word here good knowledge in grammar, vocabulary, idioms and phonetics. With this knowledge they can transfer the ideas in their minds into sounds or letters and doing so achieves their aim, communication. The third reason why learners have a problem with speaking is because they want to utter words and sentences exactly like native speakers. It is not impossible to have a native-like accent but it needs steps to have it, time to train on it and a tutor to observe. Then they can have a native-like accent. But aiming the final result, which is being a native-like speaker, without taking time and exerting efforts is such a disappointing thing. And it doesn’t matter to them how good they are and how much they are improved, they still feel worried while speaking that they have mispronounced a word or even a set of words, maybe missing word here phrase, clause or a sentence, incorrectly. And that is an obstacle that disables them to speak well. As a result to those problems and through my little experience as a teacher, I have got some solutions to the mentioned problems. That can be applied individually or in groups. Some of them need to be observed by a teacher and some not. The number one solution I believe in is creating missing word here English atmosphere. Students can watch movies, series, talk shows or conferences with English subtitles. This will help them listen without worry because they see the words they are listening to. And they can imitate what they listen missing word here. Imitation will help them acquire the accent, learn new vocabulary, apply in a practical way on grammar and learn more expressions. This will also get them into the culture which will lead to missing word here better understanding to the language. Reading supports speaking. Since reading is a receptive skill, it enriches the reader with missing word here good language system. It makes their brain think in English after they get used to reading in English. As a matter of fact, it is hard to practice in the beginning due to the lack of vocabulary they have. But they will be improving and learning by time so its difficulty will be reduced. Getting the language into feelings and emotions will help enhance the speaking skill. Students can write their dairy and notes in English. So, they can express their feelings in English. They can also talk to themselves out loud to express how they feel at the time of speaking. They will not be telling just words but they will be feeling each and every word that comes out their mouth. And those words will be meaningful for them. For the reasons above mentioned I think that practising is the key for developing their speaking skill. Throughout any material that has native speakers speaking or any high-level English speakers. Imitation, reading and expressing feelings are the clear ways to follow in order to improve. In class it is possible to do such activities, and also some other activities. Some of those activities are having games like the hotseat, what if questions or any game that makes them missing word here speak and have fun. In addition, we can have role plays in many different situations and presentation on many different topics. There are endless solutions to such a difficulty and the main point is to choose the best solution to every student.