animal experiments should be banned or not?

It is often said that animal testing is an unethical practice due to the sufferings caused by different animal species. On the contrary many believe that animal testing aims human welfare. In my opinion, I believe testing on animals helps in medical advancements and applied research for the betterment of world. On the one hand, those who oppose animal tests point to the fact that numerous animals are euthanized following the research. For example, thousands of animals from fish to chimpanzees are subjected for research purposes every year. Furthermore, its is also true that many medicines such as aspirin and insulin for humans are highly dangerous for the animal species. It is said that these medicines creates anomalies and birth defects in animals. Finally, it seems that there are new technologies available, for instance, computer simulations and cell harvesting, meaning that these methods can takeover the experiments on animals. By contrast, supporters of animal research state that these scientific experiments are fatal for humans. So the animals like rats and chimpanzees are used commonly as they replicate ninety-eight percentage of our genetic profile. They also say, with some merit, that many medicines discovered in twentieth century relied on experiments in animals. For instance, during the COVID 19 pandemic outbreak, animal testing aided in the discovery of vaccines and medicines. In addition, the effects of these experiments can be observed in a complete life cycle as the animals have a shorter life span compared to humans. As a last point, it is also true that there are higher authorities who advocate and monitor animal rights during the entire research period, making it more ethical. Overall, it appears to me that strong argument is in favour of animal testing with all advantages of similar genetic profile, life cycle monitoring, and medical breakthroughs. However, in future technological advancements like computer simulation may take over the position of animals as a research subject.