How to deal with negative emotions?

Introduction: Emotions (feelings) are a normal and important part of our lives. Some emotions are positive, like happiness, joy, interest, excitement, love. These positive emotions feel good. Negative emotions, such as sadness, anger, loneliness, jealousy, self-criticism, fear, can be difficult, even painful at times. It's especially true when we feel a negative emotion too often, too strongly, or too long. Negative emotions are impossible to avoid, though. Everyone feels them from time to time. However, we can learn to handle them. Here are 2 steps that can help you deal with negative emotions. Par 1: Step 1: Identify the emotion To identify your feelings, checking in with your body is really helpful. There are maybe some specific signals, your face gets hot, for example, or your muscles tense. Be aware of how you feel and don't hide your feeling from yourself. When you have a negative emotion, try to name what you're feeling. For example: That guy in my study group makes me so mad! I feel afraid whenever I have to walk past those bullies. Simply naming the feeling is a lot better than pretending not to have it. Figure out why you feel the way you do. For example: Whenever we do group projects, that guy finds a way to take all the credit for other people's work. Our teacher thinks he's the star of the team, even though he never has his own ideas. Although the bullies don't pick on me, I see what they do to other people and it makes me worry. Don't blame, just accept all your emotions as natural and understandable. Being able to recognize and explain your emotions isn't the same as blaming someone or something for the way you feel. The guy who takes credit for your work might not even realize what he’s doing. Don't judge yourself for the emotions you feel. It's normal to have them. Acknowledging how you feel can help you move on, so don't be hard on yourself. Par 2: Step 2: Take action Once you've processed what you're feeling, you can decide if you need to express your emotion. Sometimes it's enough to just realize how you feel, nevertheless other times you'll want to do something. Think about the best way to express your emotion. Is this a time when you need to gently confront someone else? Tell a friend what you're feeling? For example: It won't solve anything to show my anger to that guy because it may even make him feel much superior! On the other hand, I need to avoid getting in another situation where he controls a project. Learn how to change your mood. You have to shift from a negative mood into a positive one. Otherwise, your thinking may get stuck on how bad things are and that can make you feel worse. Try to do some activities that make you happy, even if you don't feel like it at the time. For example, you might not be in the mood to go out after a breakup, but going for a walk or watching movies with friends can lift you out of that negative space. Make it a habit to focus on what's good in your life even the little things, like the praise your mom and dad gave you for having good grades or how delicious the food you made for lunch tastes. Noticing the good things when you're feeling bad can help you turn the emotions from negative to positive. Look for support. Sometimes, no matter what you do, you can't get over those tough emotions. If you find yourself stuck in sadness or worry for more than a couple of weeks, if you feel very upset that you think you might hurt yourself and other people, you may need extra help. Talk to your parents, family, trusted adults, best friends. Then, they can easily understand your situation, know what you’re suffering and going through, after that find out the solution together. They can help you explore your emotions and give you a fresh way of thinking about things. Nothing helps you feel more understood and cared for than the support of someone you love and love you. Meet counselors and therapists, they’re trained to teach people how to break out of difficult emotions. They can provide lots of tips and ideas which will help you feel so much better. Exercise. Physical activity helps the brain produce natural chemicals that promote a positive mood. Exercise also can release stress. Conclusion: In order to fight against all the negative emotions, you should follow the 2 steps above. Always remember to understand your feeling, know the reasons why you feel like that, and accept your emotions, your true self. Next, choose how to express those emotions, also try to change to a healthier mood, and work out to be calm, relaxed. If you feel that you can’t solve the problems alone, then go get some help, don’t forget there’re many people who are still by your side and protect you.