How people get married in Iran

Marriage can have different meanings indifferent cultures. In Iranian culture, marriage means the start of common life between a bot and a girl. In traditional marriage, the role of families is so important. The groom parent look for the good girl and the boy and the girl do not have any role in selecting the partner. But in a modern marriage, the couple themselves choose each other. Then they inform families about their decision and go for the rest of the process that consists of several stages. The first stage, starts with a proposal session which is called “Khastegari” and the couple family knows each other. After that, the next stage is “Baleh booron” at this stage, the bride says “Yes” the groom gives her a gift which is called “Mehriyeh”. After that they perform an engagement party and couple can be legally married and accept their responsibilities. The next stage is “Jahazbaron”, the bride parent prepare the household goods for their daughter. These things are moved to the new house of the couple during this stage. Then, they perform the marriage ceremony. All the relative and friends get together. This ceremony can be held in a lunch or dinner program in a wedding hall. Finally, they start their common life.