How electricity is generated by a hydroelectric dam. Write a 150-word report for a university lecturer explaining how the process works.

Hydroelectric dams are used to generate non-polluting and renewable electricity. These dams are constructed at reservoir of water and with proper channelization of water we are able to generate electricity. To understand electricity generation we need to look at how the actual process works. A water reservoir is selected where we can construct a dam which can take huge amount of water intake and pass it to turbine. From reservoir a penstock is created which allows controlled water flow to turbine. When turbine moves kinetic energy from water is converted to electric power with help of a generator which is inside a powerhouse. Long distance power lines are used to transfer electricity to cities, industries etc. We also have internal mechanism by which water is transferred to main river flow. Hydroelectric dams are very important to conserve nature in multiple ways, one by reducing pollution and providing renewable energy.