IN RECENT YEARS MORE AND MORE PEOPLE ARE CHOOSING TO READ E BOOKS RATHER THAN PAPER BOOKS. DO THE ADVANTAGES OUTWEIGH THE DISADVANTAGES?

Books play a vital role in our life. In the modern era there is a shift in preference from paper books to e books. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages. To begin with, e books are convenient for the readers. To clarify, e books can be read anywhere and can be carried around easily without using up much space. For instance, e books can be downloaded and stored in mobile phones and pen drives and these can store up to hundreds of books. Moreover it is easier to purchase e books. Instead of going to stores, one can buy books from the comfort of their home with internet. Therefore easy accessibility and convenience are major factors which attracts readers towards e books. Another reason being, E books are eco friendly. They do not require use of papers or ink and in turn saves up the resources used in printing. For instance, studies done by the Indian express newspaper in 2019 have found that e books takes three times lesser raw materials than a print book and seven times less water. However, opponents of e book argue that continuous reading of e book can affect your health. To prove, e books are viewed through a mobile or a computer screen and cause eyestrain. But this can easily be ignored by taking breaks. Thus the drawback of e books can be easily ignored in comparison to the benefits. To conclude, in the recent years there is paradigm shift in preference of readers from paper books to e books. Although there is a skeptical outlook towards e books by some, I firmly believe that the advantages such as easy accessibility, convenience and environment friendly nature of e books outweigh the disadvantages.