How does covid 19 affect the supply chain today

Most of the world companies are affected by the pandemic; they also report disruptions in their SCs. The main trends of this effect include the following. (1) Prices fluctuate (2) There is a long lead time due to delays in receiving items from the source and delays in distribution. (3) There are delays in shipments, moving cargo, loading, shipping, and unloading. (4) Return, profits, and income reduce, thus hurting retailers’ abilities regarding their quality control. (5) Production capacity and manufacturing capability decrease. (6) Lack of disruptions plans associated with small inventory levels, single supplier, or minor diversification underestimate the possibility of severe disruptions; the focus on short-term and cost minimisations lead to a lack of risk information and contingency plan. (7) Moreover, there are difficulties in getting information and data from partners, lack of end-to-end visibility, lack of integrations and coordination, and variations in technology utilisation throughout the SC.