How did European imperialism in Southeast Asia affect Siam

Siam was never colonized. Independence from European imperialism seemed to be the invaluable pride of Thai citizens from the past until these days, they are proud of the flawless nation. The tension of colonization in Southeast Asia, severely, blanketed all the areas. Fortunately, Siam was able to escape from the circumstances; according to the majority of Thais, they claimed that King Chulalongkorn or Rama V played an essential role along the lines. However, Siam perceived and received a diversity of influences from imperialism. First of all, European countries started to seek out colonization in Southeast Asia. That is to say. The Asia region represented the prosperous resources; plants, spices, gold, etc. To admit that; Siam could not avoid the intimidation of European power at the beginning. Siam was threatened by the French power, the main intention was to conquer the Siamese state. According to NationTV, due to the strategic plan of King Rama V; he decided to empower Siam by visiting Russia in order to increase the relationship between the nations. In other words, Russia held huge power when it came to wartime. Therefore, not surprisingly, the Thai king preferred Russia as their backup. This allied connection seemed to be one of the factors for a decrease in the pressure towards Siam. Moreover, the kings also transferred some parts of Thai territories; Laos, Myanmar, and Cambodia to protect the mainland which is Bangkok today. By this, the king promoted Siam as a neutral side between France and British by sps186. The modernizing European power has changed the Siam tradition in various parts; borders, regime, technology, economic, etc. According to Supanutt Sasiwuttiwat’s research, the Bowring Treaty was a significant mediation from British and French imperialism; and Siam was forced to sign this irrational treaty in 1855. This treaty allowed foreign businesses and British consular to take place in Thailand. As well, it provided extraterritoriality and the right to own the land in Siam for British people. This was the beginning of free trade in Siam; the expansion of the economy had elevated levels of the economy. Interestingly, the main income came from the export of rice. It became a significant agricultural product. Moreover, the Chinese became dominant in the economy. They controlled the enormous market and industry, adversely affecting; most local people still pursue poverty and agricultural jobs. As a result, Siam was indirectly colonized in terms of the economic sector. This is followed by the development of technology in the nation. To begin with, the advanced transportation, there was an influence of steamship transportation. This led the economy to grow up because of the movement of peoples and an increase in trade. It expanded the market of Siam into more international industries. Another modernization of technology was telegraphy. It reduces a gap of communication such as a long-time letter response, people found faster and effective tools to communicate. As well, printed media provided public space for people to debate and discuss the matter of the country. However, the truth is, it mostly benefits European businesses. To continue with the impacts of European colonization, there were numerous changes in Siamese tradition norms, and the society adopted more Western cultures. For instance, there was a ban on prostration in 1873. King Chulalongkorn had a royal announcement to cancel the Saim, the traditional norm. Generally, the main purpose of the circumstances was to push Siam to reach prosperity as well as other countries. Furthermore, there was also a revolution in daily routine; eating, hairstyle, dressing, etc. For example, people using spoons and forks instead of eating by hand. Plus, noticeably, the change of dressing was changed; people are following the Western trends from those days until these days. To illustrate, as seen from King Rama IV, V, VI, and VII, they were wearing modernized clothes- tuxedos and leather shoes. It is rare to see people today dress in the traditional styles. European imperialism also encouraged the idea of democracy in Thailand. Due to the public space discussion of people as mentioned in paragraph IV, people started to criticize the injustice in the society. Even though the ban on prostration and slavery was announced, unequal rights still exist. People's upper class continuously oppressed commoners by the concept of farming on peoples’ backs. The king and nobility persuaded people with vague information of democracy; they claimed that the Siamese were full of unreadiness to the new concept of regime. Simultaneously, the king and his royal people took and exploited the opportunity to maintain their absolute power. Therefore, they limited the education right to people to prevent the intervention of the institutions. In conclusion, no one can deny that imperialism brought Siam prosperity in almost all dimensions especially when it came to economic growth. To emphasize, development, advanced technology, and transportation were the main factors that elevated and motivated the economy. On the other hand, the influence led Siam into an unfair treaty, poverty, and the existence of the upper-class powers.