hould teacher be paid according to students' performance?

Teachers are one of the most important members of a society as they train the next generation for succeeding in life. Money should not become the primary motive for them to teach students. So in my opinion, teachers should not be be paid according to how much a student learns in class. Firstly, there is no true metric to determine the amount that a student has learnt in a class. The only way to measure this is by marks. If teachers are only paid to increase this metric then they will be forced to concentrate on helping student score marks rather that the real goal which is to help students learn. My personal experience is an example of this, my school’s Chemistry teacher was strictly asked to help students learn and the metric that the administration tracked was student scores. So instead of teaching chemistry my professor concentrated on solving old question papers in class in order to ensure that students scored well in their exams. Although many students were able to score well in their exams they learnt very little about the actual subject as most of their time went in remembering formula’s and answers. This eventually led to falling interests in the subject. Secondly, teachers who have financial problems at their homes will start concentrating on the toppers of the class as the learn very quickly and hence teachers would get a higher pay. For example, if in a college environment a lecturer is paid by the average marks that the class scores then he will give his full attention to the top performing students of the class so they can increase the overall average of the class. THis would lead to students who are not performing well in class to loose interest in the subject and eventually not learn anything from those classes. Finally, I believe that teachers should be paid a fixed hourly wage that is enough for them to provide for their families and live a decent life. This way they will not be financially burdened and will be able to concentrate on their task of teaching the future citizens of their country. So it is due to these reasons that I disagree with the statement that teachers should be paid as much as the student learns.