How can we combat Stress among Students?

Stress has different meanings for everyone, there are several causes of stress. Certain types of stress can be helpful and some others can cause illnesses. Human body is designed to handle small events of stress, that is why there are physical effects which can affect your emotions, behaviors, thinking ability, and physical health. How can we manage and prevent from getting hurt by stress effects? Stress symptoms may happen when disciplining or during busy times at school, even when managing your times, or when coping with a challenging relationship. When you get stressed out suddenly, a chain reaction occurs in your body, an example can be Acute Stress: is an immediate reaction to a stressful situation. But stress can actually be a good thing. It is called “Good Stress”, but Psychologists call it “eustress” and it is the type of stress when we feel excited. We can define that stress as anything that alters our homeostasis, then good stress is vital for a healthy life. Bad stress can even turn into good stress, and vice versa. We can experience eustress when we go on a first date or when we ride a roller coaster, this keeps us alive and excited about life. Scientists suggested that the presence of a controlled level of stress that you can adapt to can actually make you active and better capable of managing stress while doing your work. In 1989, the “Theory of Mental Toughness” by Richard Dienstbier proposes that experiencing some types of workable stress can prepare us for a more intellectually and palpably less reactive to future stress, with it we can be more trained to deal with all kinds of stressors and this will help us to face school, work or even some family situations. Adolescents, students, everyone had to deal with a period of lifetime trauma, some of those had the worst mental and physical health, but even those with endurance, some minimum problems in life events, were less distressed minors, had less impairment and a higher comfortable life over time than students with no negative life events. Basically, people who had seasoned a trace of difficulty were the last damaged by late stressful growth action. Mark D. Seery, Department of Psychology said that: “In moderation, whatever does not kill us may indeed make us stronger. ” How can stress be manageable? well Dr. Zac Turner says that stress can be controlled by meditating, here are some easy steps to follow: Start with no expectations (meditation is not a quick fix) and it requires effort, time and patience. First, before you start, take some time to wind down, start with a few deep breaths to calm the body, second be kind to yourself, some days are easier than others, third choose a time to meditate and stick to it and finally create a designated space to meditate. I think that considering the results, as the theorists affirm, stress is necessary for keeping us alive as long as we use it in small amounts so as to not harm our body. For me that means taking care of yourself is the key, as well as giving time for yourself to meditate.