Housing is essential for people. Some argue that the government should offer free housing for people who cannot afford it.

Housing is one of the basic necessities for people of any country and according to some, the government is ought to provide free shelter to the needy. In my opinion, I agree with this notion as this will greatly benefit the poor as they face many problems due to the lack of homes. A good reason to provide free housing to those below poverty line is that most are not able to fulfil the basic necessities of life. The per capita income in India, for instance, is quite low as compared to the western world and the poor are barely able to meet their requirements for food and clothing, and they deserve a helping hand from the government. Another reason to consider is that the exorbitant prices of property makes it infeasible for the needy to even think about buying a home. Moreover, with the growing population, there is an ever increasing demand for houses which puts an inflationary pressure on the prices, making them too high for the people below the poverty line. This further accentuates the need for the government to step in. Finally, the climatic conditions in many parts of the world make it miserable for the low income group. There are many deaths reported every year due to the extreme temperatures in many regions on the globe. Therefore, it is a must to have shelter homes for the needy. In conclusion, the living conditions of people below poverty line are quite difficult as they are not able to meet their basic necessities. The onus is on the government to offer free housing to them in order to help them survive.