homeschooling has become so widespread nowadays

Both educators and students’ parents assume that students taught at home receive better education. Some, however, insist that children have to attend public schools. Although I gravitate to those who believe that attending school is a crucial part of a child’s growth and development, both views will be elaborated on here. On the one hand, there are several key reasons why homeschooling has become so widespread nowadays. Firstly, studying at home students are responsible for their own study hence they learn about discipline, time-management and gain other personal skills. Provided that there is a sufficient study planning, students whose classroom is located in their own home are able to find a balance between learning and relaxation. Secondly, homeschooling during the pandemic has proven its value as a preventive mean of reducing the spread of coronavirus. For instance, in Ukraine alone, the number of infected people decreased sharply as distance learning was temporarily imposed and learners were obliged to remain in their homes. In such case an educational process did not have to freeze. On the other hand, there are certain reasons why young students must attend schools. Visiting schools and spending time among their peers, children are able to socialize… For example, communication skills obtained at school can be extremely important when a grown up person is determined to continue their education, build a successful career or personal relationships. Another important factor is that schools are provided with all the necessary modern facilities, such as libraries, laboratories, playing fields so that all the students have an equal access to reinforcing the knowledge acquired in classrooms. In summary, both sides of the argument regarding obtaining education either at home or at school have strong support. However, having analyzed the two camps, I am of the opinion that the best quality education can be received in a real school classroom. Even though homeschooling has its powerful pros, school education does not only give the knowledge but teaches other essential skills that are important for a society.