Homelessness still exists in the world nowadays, even in developed countries which have caused worry among residents and the authorities.

Homelessness still exists in the world nowadays, even in developed countries which have caused worry among residents and the authorities. While many individuals suggest that the government should offer accommodation which is a fundamental human necessity for dwellers who are unable to pay, others hold the opposite viewpoint. On the one hand, humanity and morality are the main reasons why people propose the government provide housing for the homeless. Not everyone is born and raised in decent circumstances; some people, such as children and the elderly who are unable to work or do not have the right to make decisions about their lives. It is distressing to see them sleeping on the side of the road or beneath the bridge, regardless of the weather. Furthermore, homelessness has a negative impact on the face of a city or country as it presents a dark side of society. As a result, there will be a shortage of tourists leading to economic problems. On the other hand, providing free dwelling for the citizens will lead to unnecessary dependence and reliance on the authorities. Consequently, laziness will gradually occur and young dwellers will no longer have the intention to work hard to pay for their accommodations. Moreover, this assistance can also cause bias, as well as unfairness for all citizens. The homeless, for example, are given free shelter, whereas the poor, who may have houses, are not subsidized at all and must continue to work hard in order to pay for their daily needs. In conclusion, for the government and the residents, this suggestion of assistance includes both benefits and drawbacks. In my opinion, it would be a better idea to provide those destitute people with occupations rather than property only.