Home schooling Vs Learning at School

Learning is a never ending phenomenon in an individual's life. The learning life of a child plays a pivotal role in how they are shaped for the future. Whilst historically we only had the option of learning at school, home- schooling is getting increasingly popular. Despite the gaining popularity, in my view, a holistic school program can never be replaced by the home schooling options. Let us begin to analyze both the options with their respective advantages & disadvantages. Home-schooling is developing as a learning medium in the recent years. This mode of education system offers one on one attention to the kids, thereby enabling for children with special needs to get the undivided attention from the tutors. Homeschooling could be a slightly expensive option in comparison to the school system. One does not get to benefit on the social developments & peer learning at home. Learning at school has varied & outright advantages over the home schooling methodology. There is social learning along with peer learning when the child studies at school. Also, the nuances of social development in a set up that is uniform makes it conducive for early brain development. These kids are groomed to face the challenges of life later on. Further, the availability of sports equipment, school infrastructure, library etc. , can never be matched at home. Children make friends and relationships for life at school. They learn intrinsic value systems like ethics, trust, respect & integrity. Given the above clear benefits of the school programs, I would conclude that it is the go to option unless a child has special needs that would get meted out only by the home school system.