Do benefits of mobile phones outweigh the disadvantages

Although it is believed by some that mobile phones have brought about positive changes in people’s lives, but many others think otherwise. In my opinion, there is a wide spectrum of benefits of mobile phones but it’s disadvantages don’t outweigh them. Admittedly, cellular phones do bring about ease and pace in our day to day activities. Our communication set up has achieved supersonic speed, even distant working has now become a reality. However, it takes a great deal to set up required online portals and applications, but once they are done working becomes very easy. Payments and shopping have become a mere palm-play and hence it has boosted the economy to a great extent. Honestly people don’t even think once before buying endless things since it has become easy and hassle-free. Nevertheless, despite all those advantages, society is compromising a lot to these gadgets. In lieu of pace and ease, numerous medical complications have risen amongst people. Inspite of regular awareness campaigns about side effects of increased use of mobile phones, a large part of population continues to spend hours on screen. Although the ailments like hypertension and diabetes existed earlier too, but increased dependency on mobile phones has lead to severe sedentary lifestyle in masses. Secondly, the phones have invaded our personal lives and privacy to a large extent. Lesser number of families interact and talk to each other uninterrupted. People have been losing their peace of minds due to erratic and untimely calls from work and other sources, also many incidents have happened when people tried responding to calls while driving or walking in public area and ended up having serious injuries. In conclusion, losing one’s private time, health or mental peace is far more detrimental than any benefits provided by mobile phones, clearly many other devices like personal computer may be equally effective on working front too.