‘Governments should provide free healthcare to everyone in society. ’ How far Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience.

Healthcare can be defined as medical care and services provided to citizens, individuals or a community. It can be provided entirely free by governments or partially funded by national insurance contributions. Alternatively, people may need to buy private medical insurance plans, which can sometimes be expensive. This essay will argue that healthcare should be free for all citizens regardless of their national insurance contributions or their ability to pay for private medical insurance. This is because healthcare is a basic human right which all individuals should have access to and should be based on need. Healthcare is a human right, hence there is a legal obligation for governments to provide medical care and services to those who require it. According to international organizations such as the United Nations, citizens should be able to access food, clothing, shelter and medical services in order to ensure fundamental health needs are met. Whilst other factors might be dependent upon the amount of money a person has, their ability to pay should not be a means by which they are prevented from accessing medical services when needed. Children and the elderly might not be earning money but they still have a right to access medication and see a doctor when they are unwell. Also, illnesses such as cancer and chronic conditions require advanced or regular treatment, which should be available to everyone without having to pay for it. These could affect anyone irrespective of their lifestyle. In conclusion, healthcare should be free for all citizens and provided by the government. It is a human right and the ability to pay should not determine whether a person can receive treatment for an illness or condition when they need it. The issue of how healthcare is funded, though, still necessitates further study and research.