High consumption of sugar is detrimental to one’s health. It is thought by some that it is the obligation of the government to reduce the intake of sugar while others believe that it is a duty of an individual to curb it

High consumption of sugar is detrimental to one’s health. It is thought by some that it is the obligation of the government to reduce the intake of sugar while others believe that it is a duty of an individual to curb it. I am of the opinion that intake of sugar should be replaced with a close substitute such as Honey. On one hand, the government should pass a law that will reduce sugar intake. This law should be on the daily advisable intake of sugar for an individual. For example, In Nigeria there are agencies responsible for quality assurance of products in the market, they can create a sanctioning order on companies that are not following strict government policy on sugar in foods. In addition, media jingles should be made concerning the side effect of consuming a considerable amount of sugar. On the other hand, other’s believed that it is a job of an individual to take care of their sugar intake and I agree. I am of the opinion that individuals can choose to take Honey instead of sugar. Honey is a natural sweetener that has no side effects when compared with sugar. Also, it should be a paramount thing for an individual to always check his/ her blood sugar level and engage in physical exercises to burn excess sugar in their system. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion, I believe it is germane for an individual to pay attention to their health and subscribe to other forms of sugar such as Honey.