Healthcare is a laughing matter. We should pay less attention on our health.

Healthcare costs all over the world are rising due to the rise in modern diseases which are a product of unhealthy lifestyles. These Lifestyles include poor diet, smoking and lack of exercise. While many people do not need to use medical services, there are others who constantly need medication due to their unhealthy daily lives. In my view people who are responsible for their own illness should have to contribute towards the cost of their medical treatment. First of all, it is important to highlight the fact that ignorance is not an excuse. Information about health and fitness is widely available so everyone should know that smoking and eating fast food are not only bad for our health, but can cause serious diseases. Furthermore, there is a wide range of help services which people can consult for advice on improving their health from doctors to sports trainers and dieticians. People who continue to live unhealthy lifestyles despite advice from doctors or medical professional should not receive free or reduced cost medical services. Secondly, it is clear that certain types of treatment are very expensive and some diseases can be prevented by adopting a healthy lifestyle. If people who are obese require treatment, they are taking money away from another patient, whose operation or treatment may be costly, but necessary. Therefore, it could be a good solution to make people pay some money towards the cost of their treatment. If their health improved, this payment could be reduced. In conclusion, making people contribute towards the cost of medical treatment for self-inflicted diseases could help reduce this type of disease and make more money available for other people.