“He who bestows his goods upon the poor, Shall have as much again, and ten times more”

“He who bestows his goods upon the poor, Shall have as much again, and ten times more” John Bunyan Donating to the causes you care about not only benefits the charities themselves, it can be deeply rewarding for you too. Millions of people give to charity on a regular basis to support causes they believe in, as well as for the positive effect it has on their own lives. So why is giving to charity so gratifying? John Bunyan also has a quotation about philanthropy: “He who bestows his goods upon the poor, Shall have as much again, and ten times more” Reaching out to the poor is truly sacred. In all religions, helping people in need is very welcome. In particular, Islam emphasizes that helping the poor and relieving them of their troubles brings them peace of mind. We’ve taken a closer look at five reasons to donate to your charities of choice. Donating to charity is a major mood-booster. The knowledge that you’re helping others is hugely empowering and, in turn, can make you feel happier and more fulfilled. Research has identified a link between making a donation to charity and increased activity in the area of the brain that registers pleasure - proving that as the old adage goes, it really is far better to give than to receive. Having the power to improve the lives of others is, to many people, a privilege, and one that comes with its own sense of obligation. Acting on these powerful feelings of responsibility is a great way to reinforce our own personal values and feel like we’re living in a way that is true to our own ethical beliefs. Sharing the experience of donating to charity with your children shows them from a young age that they can make positive changes in the world. Children naturally love to help others, so nurturing their innate generosity is likely to mean that they grow up with a greater appreciation of what they have, and will carry on supporting charity in years to come. Your own charitable donations can inspire your nearest and dearest to give to causes important to them, and could even bring about a family-wide effort to back a charity or charities that have special significance to you as a group. Family giving creates a bond, helping to bolster relationships through a shared goal and raising more money than could otherwise be possible through individual donations. Chances are, many of your family members are already giving to charity, so working together could help you to make even more of a positive impact. Finally, helping the poor, no matter what form they take, is first and foremost a pleasure for the benefactors themselves. The pleasure it gives is many times more than the money spent