he personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organizations.

It is a common fact to be asked about our personal information whenever we are using a website or a mobile phone application. There are growing concerns about how this information is used by corporations and governments. In my point of view, I think data collection causes more risks than benefits. The proponents of this statement claim that these companies can provide helpful and distinctive services and products for their users. Major internet companies such as Facebook and Google track its user's behaviour to help other companies to design effective marketing campaigns. As a result, people see personalized ads that reflect their interests and preferences while they are searching online. Another advantage, gathering data about consumers can be deployed as the main source of primary data for academic and scientific researches. The information that is provided by Fitness apps can be used by medical authorities to discover the link between workout and health. It might give them general indications about the variables that have impact on the well-being of people. Conversely, people are more worried about the way how these companies are using their personal data. These concerns are adequately justified because they lost control over their own information, and their activities are being monitored online and offline. As consequences, they become more vulnerable to the threats of terrorists and unethical attacks. for example, foreign parties could affect the decisions of local citizens during the election process by knowing their feeling triggers. In addition, governments and larger companies could exploit deploying personal information for unethical purposes without the consent of their users. They might use these data to drive people attention toward certain movement or trend in order to pave the way for an acceptable solution. For instance, some of the online ads on Instagram platform promote the use of plastic surgeries to encourage younger adults to change their appearance. This type of ads therefore lower the self-esteem of women and expose them to risky practices. To sum up, Internet companies and public authorities claim that personal data are used in serving the best interests of the public. By contrast, these entities are breaching public privacy by deploying their information in wrongful ways that serve only their own advantage. Wed Dec 02 2020 Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Writing9 with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Do you want to check your essay?