Most people agree that money cannot buy happiness. Why is happiness difficult to define? How can people achieve happiness?

Many individuals agree with the idea that happiness cannot be bought but some other people believe that money gives them joy, this is not the scenario in real life. From my personal perspective people can become happier by changing their mindset, spending time in nature and working on themselves more. On the one hand, the concept of happiness is a very difficult thing to define because many people have different ideas as to what contributes happiness. Some feel that money is key, others would say that family is the main factor and yet others believe that freedom and self-expression contribute to a happy existence. A vast majority said that freedom and creativity were paramount while many others cited a multitude of other reasons for happiness, one of those being financial gain. Many humans find satisfaction in playing a sport or travelling to different parts of the world while others may find cheerfulness by cooking a delicious dish. On the other hand, people can become much happier by introspection and meditation. When an individual works on themselves and reflects on their inner feelings it leads to emotional maturity. All too often it is easy to focus on the outside world and materialism, this can lead to a shallow existence where success can become a hollow pursuit. I believe that by spending time in nature, such as walking in the forest, meditation and working on inner feelings, a person can achieve far greater happiness than if they focus on material success such as a making lots of money or pursuing fame and recognition. To sum up, although happiness is hard to clearly define due to many differing views, I think that through meditation, introspection and time in nature an individual can develop a greater sense of well being. But wealth is not the primary thing of joy.