he government should subsidize students who study faculties highly demanded from the society and reduce funding others

For years, there has been a gap between the number of graduates from the university and the demand of labor market, particularly in certain fields. Therefore, some people suggest that the government should subsidize students who study faculties highly demanded from the society and reduce funding others. This essay outlines the upsides and downsides of this view and gives my opinion on this issue. Firstly, this policy would reduce unemployment rate because it would reduce the number of people studying jobs with low employment oppotunites. Secondly, such a policy would address the shortage of labor in some necessary works such as teacher, nurse or police. For example, in Vietnam, for a long time, there was a lack of teacher in secondary schools, so the government applied free-tuition program for training teachers in universities. As a result, more people went to this sector and now the demand for teachers in school is satisfied. On the other hand, this approach would cause inequality in education as people have different abilities and they could not all go a handful of faculties subsidized by the government. Therefore, people who studied subjects out of list of beng funded would have to suffer a heavier financial burden that others. In addition, the needs of the market would change so quickly that the government could not react on time with such changes. Consequently, it would make the gap between education and market bigger and unemployment rate may increase. To exemplify, five years ago, it was easy to get a job in finance industry with high income and good benefit. People were attracted and a huge number of people went to finance universities. However, now, there is a redundancy in this sector and many people have to change their jobs or be unemployed. In conclusion, I oppose this policy due to its disadvantage outweigh its advantage. Providing sufficient information and job guidance program would be more useful in helping people to choose their career.