Having an extended family

It is increasingly clear that families share the house with other relatives nowadays. Some people think that an extended family is an essential part of children’ childhood. I partly agree that it is better for a child to have more family members surrounding. First of all, when children are in an extended family, they will bond an emotional connection with more people rather than only a father and a mother. Children will have more stable places to depend on when their parents are busy. Parents cannot always be with their kids whole day and having grandparents or an uncle not working at the same time would be favorable. Sentimentally, children will always be taken care of by someone who is reliably next to. Financially, it would save a lot for parents to rather hire a babysitter. Secondly, by growing up with an extended family, children will develop care and respect for their elders. Children who live in a nuclear family often lack disrespects for elders because parents are too busy working to pay bills. One more thing is that children would have a cousin to hang out with all the time. Especially during the Covid-19 pandemic, having a same age kid around is exceptionally important. On the other hand, some drawbacks do exist. It is lack of privacy and there may be disagreements about how to bring up a child. Grandparents and parents definitely have different points of view about what is good for a kid because of the age gap contrast. Beside, when a child spends a lot of time with other relatives, they will be distant from their parents. In conclusion, having an extended family is undeniably important for children’s childhood. As we can see from the above that extended family has its own pros and cons. It is worth considering the merits than the drawbacks since drawbacks can be flexibly dealt with.