Having a child when we are still in the search to discover ourselves as a teenager means the age gap is very little when the child grows up. On the other hand, deciding to form a complete family structure with children later in life can cause a big age gap. The trend of the latter seems to increase recently, while different sizes of age gaps have its pros and cons that people are concerned about.

To begin with, a small age gap between children and parents can build a closer connection as the mother or the father can still relate to the time of life they just stepped out of not a long time ago. Young parents are proved to be children’s friends and a comfort zone where they can discuss openly about various topics on a deep and personal level. Some teenagers find it hard to open up to older parents since most times the parents don’t relate to new changes any more. However, a bigger difference in ages between parents and their offsprings means the individuals have matured through living much enough to know how to raise their child properly, while teenage parents are often inexperienced. Being able to offer a ready nurturing at an older age, children are provided with good care and a more stable basis in a lot of aspects. In my own opinion, the pros of the increased age gap in the family has somehow outweighed its cons easily. It is always better to make sure that parenting is planned in order to raise another human being in a well-prepared condition rather than when we are still busy hustling daily, even when it is a little later.