Education lays the fundamental foundation for success and progress in life. Nowadays, since the technology field is developing significantly, online courses are offered as an alternative to conventional classes in some universities. It is often debated whether this form of education has merits or shortcomings. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that e-learning has definite advantages which outweigh available drawbacks.

Education lays the fundamental foundation for success and progress in life. Nowadays, since the technology field is developing significantly, online courses are offered as an alternative to conventional classes in some universities. It is often debated whether this form of education has merits or shortcomings. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that e-learning has definite advantages which outweigh available drawbacks. Firstly, internet-based courses play an important role in binding people from all parts of the world. Thanks to this opportunity, students coming from every corner of the globe can study in the world-renowned university environment, which is far away from their hometown. Besides, economically deprived students can continue their quest for knowledge through these online classes which save them the money needed to travel and relocate to a brand new city. For example, a recent survey demonstrates that this trend of education has doubled the number of students applying to some prestigious colleges, who would have otherwise been backed out owing to financial constraints. Having said that, online learning brings a few drawbacks. It can not be denied that e-learning via the internet is unsuitable for majors which need practical hands-on experience. For instance, some science subjects namely biology, chemistry, or physics involve a lot of laboratory-based experiences that can not be fulfilled in online studying progress. Furthermore, when students study at home, they may easily be distracted by personal devices that constantly notify text messages or any kind of entertainment content. As a result, the student’s academic learning quality will drop dramatically. To conclude, although there are some remaining disadvantages, I support the idea that distance learning offered by some universities brings financial benefits and erases geographical boundaries among continents, which outweighs few shortcomings. In fact, online courses help to spread education worldwide rather than restricting it to the confines of the classroom.