Has technology given us more leisure time than before?

It is a hotly debated topic whether technology has given us more leisure time than before. Some claim that modern inventions have both assisted and worsened humans’ life in many ways; however, to my way of thinking, many individuals have wasted their free time when using modern devices. It is irrefutable that modern devices and applications are crucially vital in our everyday lives. It should be first noted that numerous machines have replaced humans in manual jobs in the workplace. For instance, car producers often apply robots to produce cars, which requires less time and effort. In addition, housewives can utilize modern gadgets for their everyday work and spend more time with their families instead. Besides, convenience is provided if an individual has a computer connected to the internet and a mouse. To illustrate, a businessman could have a conference online instead of a face-to-face meeting, and by that, he does not have to drive to work. It is understandable that sometimes people are over-reliant on technology. Many employees decide to spend all day working in front of a computer to save more money, and many people choose to adapt to the new lifestyle and hardly ever go outside. Some teenagers rather spend time indoors instead of outdoors. Playing too many computer games and using too much social media could develop into addictions, in which many teenagers do not even know they were addicted. Furthermore, people who rely on technological devices too much are at higher risk of health problems. Numerous people may believe that being capable of attending conferences and shopping online may save us time from driving from place to place. However, it is undeniable that the spare time is very little, and even though we can do shopping online, we still have to wait for the shipping to be delivered. To conclude, modern inventions have both pros and cons. Present-day devices and appliances may provide many individuals with convenience and spare time; however, many others are becoming addicted to technologies and contracting health problems. It is highly recommended for governments to spend more money on education and sports facilities to uplift one’s physical well-being and knowledge.