Some people prefer to live in the countryside. Others prefer to live in a big city. What is your opinion?

Along with the development of modern society, living in the urban area or rural area has become a contentious topic amongst citizens. Several decades ago, people were less flexible to make such decisions voluntarily as it involves realistic factors such as whether a place could financially sustain the preferable lifestyle. However, along with economic growth, this is becoming a prevailing question for a number of city-dwellers nowadays. Despite the purported romantic image of country life displayed by media, I prefer to reside in cities for the long run. One of the dominant reasons for people to live in the city, I believe, is that urban life benefits the most for people who live by themselves. Firstly, urban space is highly infrastructured to facilitate the high-paced life, which, in return, made it particularly efficient for single individuals. Even for people who are physically challenged, they tend to find more equipment to support their daily life. Secondly, the city provides better transportation networks, which made social life more vibrant and dynamic. Public transportation made it possible that visiting a friend is three stops away through a tram, while in the rural area residence tends to locate disparagingly and taking longer time to reach. Last but not least, I recommend living in the city because of the diversified recreational activities they offer. Concert, exhibition and conference, they make life enriched yet they are less found in the countryside. Hence, an urban lifestyle lends to an independent and self-sufficient path that lowered the average cost for an individual to focus on self-development. On the contrary, residing in the villages could be potentially high-demanding both financially and psychologically. In fact, opposite to the common perception that the countryside being tranquil and poetic, it could be costly for any self-reliant citizens to afford an average life. For instance, I have a friend who, after putting up with the hustle and bustle in the metropolitan, had resigned from his job and relocated to a remote village. Even though he enjoyed the scenic surroundings and verdant greeneries at the beginning, he found it an impediment to replicate the old habits he favored in the cities. At first, the construction quality of a countryside dwelling made him frustrated and he had to invest a fortune to make up for the house to reach out an acceptable standard. Then, his neighbors made him felt estranged because, unlike urban citizens, their interests are mostly in agricultural activities instead of cultural. Eventually, he felt isolated and disappointed and had to take surrender for the well-meant tempts. In summary, living in the countryside is often fantasized by the increasing number of the urban populace, however, citizens should leverage carefully whether they should relocate or not.