Drug addiction is becoming an increasing problem. In order to reduce this problem, anyone caught using drugs should be automatically sentenced to time in prison.

It is true that drug addicts are on the incease and some effective solutions must be taken to tackle this problem. While some suggest that it would be better to immediately imprison people caught abusing drugs, I totally disagree with that due to some reasons The imprisonment for drug abuser is not likely to help them to turn over a new leaf. This is because, in prisons, there would not be any programs or talks that can them about the ill effects of drugs and change their existing perception of drugs. As the result, all the efforts of putting them behind bars are simply in vain. Instead, if the addicts are sent to rehabitation centres, they will be treated for their addiction. On top of that, counselors can provide them with counseling and to motivate and help them build a new life After being ex-convicts, they will find it hard to integrate with the community and continue to misuse drugs. the one of the primary reasons is because the society mainly do not accept the prisoners as a part of them. If only the society the society or the people surrounding the addicts give them a second chance, I am sure that they will never abuse drugs once more. For example, people having a criminal record are more likely to struggle with applying for there job, so the governement should create job opportunity for released prisoners. This will help them to meet the demand of basis necessities of life such as food and clothing, and inturn not reoffend In conclusion, I believe that sending the drug addicts to rehabilitation centres is one of beneficial ways to helping released prinsoners redeem their lives and rejuvenate their lost hopes for a better futher rather than sending them to prison