growing tendency towards spending extra hours at work

Today’s society witnesses numerous modifications with regard to working environment, one of which is the growing tendency towards spending extra hours at work. In this essay, I will elucidate this trend's primary causes and its effect. It appears that overworking is not likely an option but rather than an obligation to survive. A multiple of people are working overtime as an attempt to meet their daily demands. Owing to the escalation of living costs, people are made decisions to work extra hours or even gain a part-time job to fortify their lives. Another contributor is increasing competition at work. To avoid being downsized, today’s employees require themselves to perform better than their colleagues, and most choose to. work longer hours as the way to escape from this pressure. No one can deny that this circumstance pushes people into immense pressure, which can adversely affect their health, both physically and mentally. First, long working hours steals their time for themselves and close relationships, weakening family bonds and social interactions. As a result, workers may experience life dissatisfaction and even depression in the long run resulting from extensive exposure to isolation and loneliness. Furthermore, insufficient rest damages their physical health; there is a likelihood that employees suffer from eye problems, spinal injuries and increasing risks of strokes. All of these definitely affects their quality of life severely. In conclusion, extended working hours are accompanied with efforts to meet daily expenses and excessive workloads. This emerging trend of working is detrimental to employees’ health and enjoyment of life.