Growing numbers of cities are making their centers pedestrian-free zones

Rapid urbanization is turning city centers into areas that allow access only for pedestrians. Although this implementation has a number of advantages, similar to any other road access change, it has a few drawbacks also. Pedestrianization can improve the safety, air quality, and livability of public spaces. In other words, car-free development is known to decrease air and noise pollution and ensure better accessibility and mobility in city centers. As a consequence, people travel through the central city in much healthier conditions and without the need to be careful of possible car accidents. This implementation has also enhanced the volume of shopping and local property values, making it possible for local businesses to thrive. Moreover, the lack of vehicles may improve the aesthetic attractiveness of the local environment. For instance, buildings and various architectures become more visible to people traveling through the central part of the city. Another benefit for architectural structures is that pedestrian-only spaces and a lowered level of sound pollution can ensure a decrease in traffic-induced vibrations, which could otherwise cause various damage, such as cracking of plaster or even collapse of the whole structure. However, the restriction on vehicles can increase surrounding travel and commuting time. For instance, due to displacement rather than substitution of car transportation, vehicle parking, and traffic congestion increased, making it far more difficult for people to maneuver their car and locate a parking spot in surrounding districts. On top of that, the time designated to travel from and to work has increased. For instance, residents of the suburbs employed in the center of the city are particularly affected since the interval of commuting has become much more strenuous. In conclusion, the implementation of pedestrian space has a double-edged nature since it has established healthier and safer conditions for living and shopping activities, on the contrary, it has also enhanced traveling time and roadblocks in the surrounding districts.