Some teachers tend to reward students who achieve high academic results. Others, however, support and reward students that show the most improvement.

Teachers hold different views on which type of students deserve recognition and rewards. While some consider high-scoring students to be deserving of praise or incentives, the others believe that students with improving performance are far more worthy of support. However, I personally believe that pupils capable of enhancing academic attainment are equally worthy of recognition. Rewarding students based on academic excellence is for people who prefer a competitive environment. Educational institutes created a system in which they compel students to achieve continued positive results by competing with their colleagues, and in return they obtain monetary gains, public recognition, and teachers’ esteem. For instance, a common practice in East Asian countries is for parents to offer financial incentives to students, educational centers to hand out certificates of excellence, and teachers to highlight individuals for praise. As a result, students are determined to compete against each other to excel at academic performances. Furthermore, this type of system can develop a sense of competitiveness, enhance ambition, and maintain motivation. Professors who prefer students with such qualities tend to consider that higher achievers should be the ones rewarded. However, other teachers favor the catalyst for learning in students with improving performance. Some pupils’ motivations for learning are not high scores and excellent performance, but holistic principles. Therefore, their studying endeavor is, namely, to access the world of knowledge, and to present interest in the subject itself and not the rewards. This type of student may be reluctant to study, or lack motivation occasionally, but the curiosity towards the subject alone can enhance their performance. Moreover, students with these characteristics are known to be self-motivated, quick learners, determined, and persistent once they discover interest in their learning. For this reason, certain professors tend to be in favor of supporting and praising this particular kind of pupil. In conclusion, there has been a controversy among professors who prefer to reward students based on whether they are high achievers or improving academically. However, in my opinion, pupils that improve their performance should be equally rewarded for their efforts as top students.