Group work activities are widely applied in school lessons by many teachers. What are the advantages and disadvantages of working in groups?

It is obvious that more and more and more teachers recommend group work method currently. There are often several debates about the fact that working in group is an ideal way of studying, while others have different views on this issue. Both the advantages and disadvantages of students going to work while they are attending university will be discussed in depth in this essay. It can be seen that there are many advantages of group study. Firstly, when working in group, there are numerous opportunities for students to learn and improve from their peers. As a result, they might feel more confident to share opinions, exchange new and interesting things from other students. Secondly, working in groups could benefit to strengthen friendship bond amongst group members. As they become closer and sympathize to the others, students can find out the answer or solve a problem more quickly. Despite these positive sides, several drawbacks do exist. First of all, there might be some unequal participation when taking part in a group. To be more specific, . some students may not be motivated or interested in the given task, so they may not be willing to work together. Therefore, this seems to be quite unfair for the active members in the group. Another disadvantage is that might waste a great deal of time. The primary reason may due to the fact that sometimes there can be conflict between members and such conflict can be challenging to solve, so it could make the team less effective and productive. In conclusion, despite having some drawbacks, group-working has brought more advantages to many people, especially young generations. While this trend may bring about some disadvantages, I would argue that they are compensated by the advantages.