grocery shops should exclusively sell local products

Some people argue that grocery shops should exclusively sell local products originating from the country they are located, instead of selling food from foreign sources. In my view, while there are some advantages to importing food on an economical and food variety level, I am convinced that supermarkets ought to adopt a more sustainable approach for environmental reasons. With regards to meeting household budget objectives, the obvious choice is to keep the food market open to foreign products in order to let the competition naturally bring the prices down. The low food prices resulting from this global competition would particularly benefit the low and medium income families who can struggle with their budget towards the end of the month. Another reason for importing food from abroad is the larger variety that this approach provides, such as the possibility of purchasing tropical fruits in a cold European country. To conclude, foreign sources for food supermarket appear to have benefits on an individual level. Nonetheless, I believe that obvious environmental and economic reasons should push our societies to prevent importing food from abroad. On an ecological point of view, such a commercial approach significantly contributes to our carbon footprint as a result of long-distance food transportation using large container ships and trucks. Greenhouse gas emissions from such vehicles cause global warming which was scientifically proven to cause an increase of droughts, storms and floods. It is therefore clear that supermarkets should prefer using local food sources to preserve our planet and human living conditions. To conclude, I believe that the long-term environmental impact of food importation significantly outweigh the economical advantages which can only be seen on an individual level.