Many people say that we place too much importance on money and possessions. Others believe that consumer society improves our life.

Money is considered by many people to be one of the most important contributing factors towards happiness. In my opinion, it is possible for many people to be happy even if they have little or no money and other aspects of life can play a much vital role in creating happiness. Although money brings happiness to a lot of people, it is not essential to believe that people without money, are therefore, unhappy. For example- in comparison between developed and developing countries, most Westerners believe that people in developing countries are much happier as they enjoy a stronger family connections and attain pleasure in simplicity of life to a greater extent than that of Westerners. One way of achieving happiness is through job satisfaction. For example- the doctors working in underdeveloped countries may make a little money but the reward of helping people by using the skills they are good at can bring happiness in itself. In other words, happiness can be achieved by using the skills they are trained for and through job satisfaction. Another way of attaining happiness is by having a loving and caring family in one's life. While money may bring many opportunities but few prefer to enjoy it on their own. Being surrounded by a loving and caring family is considered to be more valuable by many people than money. In conclusion, we can say that money is not essential for happiness which can be obtained through job satisfaction as well as family. If more people strive towards happiness than money, the world would be a better place to live in.