Grading self evaluation for English 1 semester

Enrique De Luna Professor Romero English 1301-86033 19 November 2021 Writing Then and Now The course started with a reintroduction to the MLA format, then eased into how to brainstorm, outline, draft, revise, and edit. Next, we were taught about the thesis, body paragraphs, and conclusions. We were also taught the importance of research, how to avoid plagiarism and the importance of peer reviews. Not to mention the importance of knowing both sides of an argument to help make your point without the fluff. The question posed is how have I improved as a writer. I have taken these ideas in mind more thoroughly, learning to make a plan before the plan and consider all angles. Prewriting entails the plan to plan, it starts raw considering things like who is it for and what message am I trying to convey. From there, think about what topics, once one is chosen, get sub-topic issues written down. This is so I know what to include in my thesis to set up my body paragraphs with a clean conclusion in mind while not going off-topic. In my first essay, I mixed up the double spacing and included some of my prewriting with my first draft which was not repeated in future assignments. Drafting is the process in which you slowly form into a final product by getting the outline in mind than making the first draft. Once complete, re-read it or hand it off so that it can have a fresh set of eyes before making the next draft, continuing this till the final product. Sometimes my brain felt tired and I missed some small issues that could have been avoided like missing commas, fragment sentences, run-ons, and article errors but I looked at the notes and realized that I should not submit when I think I am done but give it a day and re-read it with a fresh brain to prevent easily correctable errors. Revising is the process of editing my drafts to get closer to the end product making sure to edit or omit parts that are not relevant or inaccurate. Towards the middle of the semester I was still having issues with the formatting but thanks to a note I realized I forgot the double spacing in my templating. Research and Plagiarism, go hand and hand while citing sources can increase your credibility. Doing it improperly is considered plagiarism which can lead to repercussions due to academic dishonesty, and unethical behavior. Such repercussions include failing the class or even expulsion. It is simple if you use a source reference in the proper formatting as specified by your instructor. Understanding both sides of an argument helps with making a point by understanding the opposing viewpoint. In summary, that's how you publish the final product, and I have taken a little piece of each lesson to improve my writing while not perfect, still better than it began. I got a refresher in MLA formatting, prewriting and learned to take my time with assignments instead of rushing through in order to avoid fragment sentences, article errors, commas, and run-on sentences.