Governments should tax private car owners heavily

Nowadays, more and more people own at least a car. It indicates that the citizens’ finances are increasing, and people have a better life. However, that development has caused many traffic problems. Some people believe that the Vietnamese government should have a heavy tax on private cars owners and use the money to improve public transportation. This such a solution has both benefits and drawbacks. On the one hand, the number of cars will decrease if the car owners have to pay a high rate tax. Consequently, the authority can use the fund to improve public transportation systems and facilities. Secondly, the number of accidents and injuries of automobile vehicles would go down because of having fewer means of transportation. In addition, the budget for public vehicles fuel could be reduced and the air pollution could become decreasingly. On the other hand, it is a big problem for people who live in the countryside or rural areas. Although public transportation may reach their place, it has once or twice a day. In this case, they can save plenty of time by using their private car. Besides the inconvenience, since the quality of car consumption declines, many automobile companies would reduce employment. As a result, both the government and the citizens would face unemployment issues. In conclusion, every solution has positive and negative sides, giving high rate tax for private vehicle owners is not an exception. That way could reduce air pollution, upgrade the public transportation facilities. However, society has to solve a new problem that is unemployment.