Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads.

Some people think that while allocating budget, railways should get preference over roads. While others argue that the roads need greater financial resources as they need frequent maintenance due to the excessive use. This essay agrees that spending on railway system is worth the price as it will address many issues like shortage of public transport and traffic congestion. Roads are major source for everyday travel. They provide easy access to multiple places, hence, making it easy to commute between different parts of the city. To keep this system functions smoothly, government need to construct new roads as well as keep the existing ones in good shape which requires money. For instance, in countries that experience heavy snowfall, roads get easily damaged, therefore, requiring a regular high-cost maintenance. On the other hand, with an increasing number of cars on roads, the public face many problems like traffic jam, noise, pollution, and accidents. Thus, improving public transport like railway can play a key role in reducing traffic issues and providing the citizens with a clean air to breathe in. For instance, The United Kingdom built a network of trains across the country which not only increased accessibility to the far most areas of the kingdom, but also solved many traffic related issues including major traffic jams. To conclude, although roads are convenient but the advantages of less hassle on roads and improved air quality, are far greater than convenience. Taking the positive points into account, spending on railway is highly recommended.