Governments should spend more money on education than on recreation and sports.

Each nation’s government allocates a percentage of money for educational purposes and for recreation and sports. Some believe governments should spend more money on education than recreation and sports, and I agree with this statment primarily because i firmly believe access to education is a basic human right and it builds the foundation for future career paths for the young generation. Access to education is a basic human right despite any ethnic and age differences. Its the ultimate responsibilty of a nation’s government to ensure their every citizen has access to education starting from schools to higher education such as universities. Unlike sports and recreational activities which are only specific populations are interested in, basic education for everyone should be mandated. If governments allocate more funds towards education, many educational institutes and facilities can be freely accessible for even those from lower socioeconomic backgrounds. A good education is an invaluable investment for a country’s own economy. It allows the youth to enhance their skills and directs them to career paths. Not only educational insititutes help the students to build up intellectual and cognitive skills, it also expands their social and interpersonal skills which are equally important for their future. A highly educated graduate has a higher probability of being employed, not only locally but abroad as well. They are more skilled and equipped to contribute for scientific or technological interventions which can bring global recognition. Although sports and recreation is an important aspect for any nation, I believe education brings more productivity and contributes greatly towards a country’s economy and recognition, therefore it should be priortised over sports and recreation in regards to funding.