Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. with this statement?

It is often argued that spending money on railways is much more profitable than on roads by the government. I completely agree that investing more in railways will help in boosting the economy of the country. First of all, I believe that the railway is a mode of transport which is cheaper and faster than roadways. The construction cost of a rail network is a one-time investment while roads are constructed frequently, which puts pressure on the pocket of the government. Although, traveling by train is faster and one can reach his desired destination with less time than by road. For example, the government can cover the spending by collecting fare from the public while toll tax collected, fill the pocket of private companies who built roads on the tender. However, to make travel faster and cheaper, the government should spend more on railways. Secondly, import and export of goods from one part of the country to another in bulk is cost-effective as well as saves fuel and time. In other words, lots of good reach every corner of the country in less time and less money. This helps to make strong relations between government and various businesses indirectly. For example, if people of the nation will earn more profit then they will spend more which will indirectly boost the economy of any nation. Thus, spending wealth on railways indirectly helps people save more money and rise of economy in a long-term perspective. In conclusion, I strongly believe that more investment made on railways results in high return in the form of various indirect factors.