Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Infrastructure development is one of the most important governments' concerns in the last decades. However, some people believe that spending money on railways is much better than spending on roads, I would argue that roads are as much important as railways and governments should allocate appropriate funding for both. One of the most important benefits of developing train systems is enabling people reach any far city in the shortest time. For instance, when people take train in order to travel to a long distance destination, they will arrive in a shorter time than if they choose to take any vehicle on the road due to the fact they will escape from traffic jam. Thus, improving the railway system will facilitate people getting into their remote destination. On the other hand, allocating appropriate fund on roads is rather essential for both children who are willing to go to their schools and adults who want to reach their work place. For example, trains will not be able to go every corner of the city and therefore they are not suitable for most children and employees who require getting their schools and work places in certain street safely and easily. That is why upgrading the roads enable people reach anywhere in a city or even in rural areas. In addition, having a well-developed roads affects the trade even it is local or international trade and thus if the roads are not developed enough, customers will refuse getting into some traders. Owing to those facts, putting attention and spending money on roads is crucial. In conclusion, although spending money on railway may assist a number of individuals getting their destinations rapidly, I believe allocating money on roads is a necessary as well in light of the fact that people may reach anywhere easily and this will reflect on the national and international trade.