Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

While some advocate that authorities should allocate more funds to railroads than roads, others put forward cogent reasons for increasing expenditure on highways and byways first. I totally agree that it is railway construction that should be primarily financed. The main reason why I believe that railways have to be funded on a primary basis is due to their reliability. Traveling by rail offers fast and secure communication, as well as minimizes mortality in mass casualty events. To illustrate, there are usually few passenger fatalities as a result of train accidents, while motor vehicles fatality rate amounts for great figures per day. Another reason for funding railroads is that they are an environmentally-friendly mode of transport. A regular train releases much less harmful gases than the cars needed to transport the same number of passengers. Developing railway nets ensures that fewer people will use private vehicles to commute. This results in fewer toxic emissions emitted in the atmosphere on an everyday basis leading to the enhancement of ecological situation and diminished air pollution. Finally, if extensive use of trains were to be implemented, much fewer people would consider driving cars to get to the final destination. In other words, the number of cars on the road would decline, which would entail a drastic curtail of traffic jams in bustling cities. As a result, city dwellers would not have to spend hours on an everyday commute. To conclude, I completely agree that the government should make funding railways their top priority. This is because not only do railroads enable swift and secure transportation of individuals and goods, but they also bring much less damage to the environment than cars and tackle the issue of traffic congestion.