“Governments should make people pay if they damage the environment". Some opinions expressed in the discussion

Our planet is a wonderful place to live on, but unfortunately we are destroying it. After a discussion among the classmates, we have reached some interesting conclusions on how we could encourage people to become more environmentally friendly. Since the situation nowadays is pretty dramatic, some argued that the government should join the cause in a practical way with specific laws and taxes because they said that the only way to open people’s eyes is to talk about money. These students explained that people should pay more attention on rubbish, for example, and that politicians should do their part making pay higher taxes to those who do not differentiate their trash, contributing to the ecological disaster we are living in. On the other hand, other students claimed that new taxes are not the only way to solve the problem. They said that it is important to change people’s mentality, starting from elementary school or earlier. Particular lessons on ecological matters should be introduced; teachers should talk about how every person can do her/his part in preserving the environment, such as having a shower instead of a bath, switching the light off every time you do not need it, differentiating well rubbish, trying to avoid using the car too much, and so on. In this way, little kids would grow up knowing how to contribute to the earth’s preservation in everyday life. In the end, we decided to accept both points of view since one does not exclude the other. We agreed that this is an urgent matter to take in serious consideration.