Governments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on food and beverages with high levels of sugar. Some think that these taxes are a good idea while others disagree.

Consuming sugar in large quantity is, indubitably, dangerous for one; however, is the imposition of special duty by the rulers on eatables and drinks rich in sugar a prudent step? Although some presume it develops healthy eating habits among the citizens, I oppose it since not only will those addicts to sugar continue buying it, but the various industries will face financial stress as well. A school of thought insists that this tax policy will result in healthy citizens. According to them, the soared prices of items rich in sugar will discourage the public from adding such high-calorie items in their diets, thereby, keeping masses away from health complications, such as obesity and diabetes. Contrarily, there will be no effect on people’s eating choices. Most people earn to satiate their taste buds, and because the sugary items will still remain affordable for them after a few percentage increases in price due to taxes, the efforts of making people healthy will go in vain. For instance, despite Dairy milk chocolate’s price tripled in the last decade, its sales have kept rising. Besides failing to achieve its target, the decision will adversely affect other types of businesses. As the food becomes exorbitantly expensive for people, their spending capacity will shrink, which will lead to fewer sales of various other manufacturers or service providers. To exemplify, a study has revealed that had the cost of food not skyrocketed, more Indians could have afforded a better vehicle for them in the last year. Resultantly, the decision of increasing the price of food may ultimately propel other companies to either shut down or emigrate. In conclusion, the belief that extra taxes on sugar will reduce its consumption is flawed. Moreover, it will diminish the revenues of other sectors; therefore, overall, it is an unwise step by many governments, and more research is needed to unearth better ways of tackling the issue of high sugar consumption.